Holy Rosary Catholic Voluntary Academy

Loving Heart – Strong Mind

RE Curriculum

Come and See


Our RE curriculum follows 'Come and See' a Catholic Primary Religious Education programme for Foundation and Key Stages 1 and 2  which was published in July 2012.


The Catechism of the Catholic Church addresses the search for meaning in life. God’s initiative in Revelation who comes to meet us and our response of faith. (cf. CCC26) This pattern guides the structure of the programme and informs the process of each topic, opened up through; Explore, Reveal and Respond.


​The table below shows the themes and aspects of learning for each programme of study, as well as which year group and when they will be taught.


Knowledge Organisers - Unit 5 - Local Church - Community

Knowledge Organisers - Unit 4 - Advent - Loving

Knowledge Organisers - Unit 2 - Baptism and Confirmation - Belonging

Knowledge Organisers - Unit 1 - Domestic Church - Family


Religious Education is at the core of our curriculum, allowing us to develop children's religious literacy, knowledge and understanding of their faith. We follow the 'Come and See' RE scheme of work. 'Come and See' is the response Jesus gave the disciples when they asked 'Where do you live?' (John 1:39)


The RE curriculum is therefore based on the truth revealed by God about ourselves, our life together and our ultimate destiny with God. 


At the heart of our RE curriculum are our 'Big questions',  shown in the table above which ultimately drive the learning of the topic. These questions remain open ended and challegning, providing children with opportunities to engage with the deepest questions of life encouraging pupil collaboration, discussion and reflection.


Our RE curriculum follows three themes, which are explored at different stages throughout the year. They include: Church, Sacrament and Christian Living. 


Church - These themes take place each season time and each theme gradually on the children's prior learning from the previous topic. Children will explore 'Family', 'Local community' and 'Universal Church' within this topic. 


Sacrament - Children will learn about Baptism (KS1), Confirmation (KS2), Ordination (KS2) Marriage (KS2) and the Eucharist. 


Christian Living - Children will learn about Advent (celebrating life), Lent and Easter (the cost of life) and Pentecost (feasts to celebrate). 


Teachers are constantly receiving the correct forms of CPD to develop their subject knowledge and ability to teach RE to ensure children make the expected progress. Our RE leads ensure that RE is given 10% of the length of the taught week for each Key Stage and work at developing the appropriate skills to make their own informed decisions on how God impacts the way we live.


Other Faiths

As part of our RE curriculum, we teach and learn about other faiths throughout the year. We have a week off timetable, where we focus purely on a different faith e.g. Sikhism, Judaism, Hinduism and Islam. We teach the children that Jesus showed respect for those within and outside his own faith, and because we learn from Jesus, we must also do the same. The church calls us to be committed to respecting people of other religions and therefore children are invited to learn, reflect upon and gain insight. During these weeks, we aim to invite someone in to talk to the children about their faith. 


We use the resources created by TEN TEN to deliver our Relationships and Health Education Programme to pupils and their families through access to an specially tailored online learning platform 


Life to the Full is much more than a series of lessons. It is an entire platform of creative resources that will engage, inform and inspire our children and, indeed, you as parents. This includes interactive video content, story-based activities, employing a wide range of teaching tools, original worship music and an accompanying programme of classroom prayers.


Life to the Full is intended to be partnership between home, school and church. We know that you already do a fantastic job and we see our new programme, Life to the Full, as a means to further develop, support and enrich the partnership between home, school and church so that your child is fully supported.


Programme Structure


In Life to the Full, we follow a three-stage structure which is repeated across three different learning stages:


  • Key Stage One is aimed at Years 1 and 2
  • Lower Key Stage Two is aimed at Years 3 and 4
  • Upper Key Stage Two is aimed at Years 5 and 6


Within each learning stage, there are three modules which are based on the Model Catholic RSE Curriculum:


  • Created and Loved by God
  • Created to Love Others
  • Created to Live in Community


Each Module is then broken down into Units of Work.


Module 1

Created and Loved by God


Religious Understanding

Me, My Body, My Health

Emotional Well-Being

Life Cycles

Module 2

Created to Love Others


Religious Understanding

Personal Relationship

Keeping Safe

Module 3

Created to Live in Community


Religious Understanding

Living in the Wider World